The Passion according to Carol Rama offers an overview of a multi-faceted body of work, its scenography taking the form of a fragmented 'anatomy' that combines the chronological and the thematic in a thoroughgoing revelation of Rama's obsessive complexity.

This is a hybrid oeuvre in which subject and medium coalesce, from mouth/watercolour to penis-breast/rubber and eye/bricolage. A seeming jumble of themes and materials, Rama's different series in fact come together as a coherent whole, tackling notions like madness, fetishism, ordure, abjectness, pleasure, animality and death.

Born into a traditional Catholic bourgeois family in Turin in 1918, this self-taught artist has said, 'I've never needed a model for my painting; the sense of sin is my teacher.' Beginning with the early 1930s watercolours that caused censorship clashes, she developed a distinctive visual system at odds with normative, male-dominated modernism. In 1950 her work took an abstract turn, moving towards a personal, organic vision of Concrete Art. Twenty years later she began using strips cut from bicycle tyres as sensual, minimalist 'image material'. In 1980 she reverted to figuration with watercolours painted on architectural illustrations. Her most recent major series, dating from the 2000s, takes its inspiration from mucca pazza (mad cow disease) and consists of provocative rubber compositions that could be termed 'queer Arte Povera'.

In contrast with the artist’s light-filled studio, Rama’s apartment is a dark, skilfully arranged room, home to a plethora of portraits, other works and odds and ends: her raw materials, primitive and religious statuettes and pop items. Chosen with Maria Cristina Mundici (Archivio Carol Rama), a selection of objects sets up a dialogue here with Bepi Ghiotti’s photographs installation of the casa studio. The background soundtrack by Paolo Curtoni is a mix of sounds from the apartment and recordings of the artist’s voice.


Despite a solitary, eccentric existence far removed from movements and the fashionable, Rama has always mixed with artists and intellectuals, among them Carlo Mollino, Edoardo Sanguineti, Lea Vergine, Man Ray, Pasolini and Andy Warhol. She now appears as a figure crucial to any understanding of the representational changes in the art of the 20th century. Winner of the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale in 2003, she was shown there again in 2013, and her work has become the focus of intense interest on the part of museums, art historians and other artists.

Exhibition concieved by the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA) and the Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris (MAMVP), organized by the MACBA and coproduced with PARIS MUSÉES / MAMVP, EMMA – Espoo Museum of Modern Art, Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (IMMA) and GAM – Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea, Turin.    


Curator: Anne Dressen

In partnership with  furniture design.

L’exposition La Passion selon Carol Rama révèle les multiples facettes du travail de cette artiste. La scénographie entend reprendre l’image d’une "anatomie" fragmentée, dans une lecture mi-chronologique, mi-thématique, la plus à même de dévoiler toute la complexité obsessionnelle de l’œuvre de Carol Rama.
Cet œuvre forme un corps hybride, où les sujets et les techniques ne font qu’un : de la "bouche-aquarelle" au "pénis/sein-caoutchouc", en passant par "l’œil-bricolage".
Ces différentes séries, en apparence hétérogènes dans leurs thématiques et dans leurs matériaux, dessinent un ensemble cohérent autour de sujets tels que la folie, le fétichisme, l’ordure et le dévalué, le plaisir, l’animalité, la mort.

Autodidacte, née en 1918 à Turin et issue d’une famille bourgeoise catholique traditionnelle, Carol Rama déclare : "Je n’ai pas eu besoin de modèle pour ma peinture, le sens du péché est mon maître." Depuis ses premières aquarelles censurées des années 1930, elle invente son propre système visuel, contrastant avec les représentations modernistes et normatives dominées par la vision masculine. Carol Rama se tourne vers l’abstraction à partir de 1950, se rapprochant de l’art concret, dont elle livre une vision organique. Vingt ans plus tard, elle crée une "image-matière" à partir de pneus découpés, d’une facture minimale et sensuelle. En 1980, elle revient à la figuration, avec des aquarelles peintes sur des planches d’architecture. Sa dernière grande série réalisée dans les années 2000, qui s’inspire de la "mucca pazza" (épidémie de la vache folle), consiste en des compositions provocantes encaoutchouc, que l’on pourrait qualifier de povera queer.

A l'opposé de l'atelier d'artiste lumineux, l'appartement de Rama est une chambre obscure savamment mise en scène, où cohabitent une multitude de portraits, d'oeuvres et d'objets : matériaux bruts servant à ses pièces, statuettes primitives ou religieuses, objets pop. Sélectionnés avec Maria Cristina Mundici (Archivio Carol Rama), des objets dialoguent ici avec une installations de photographies de la casa studio réalisées par Bepi Ghiotti, sur une bande-son originale de Paolo Curtoni, mixant des sons enregistrés dans l'appartement, avec des captations de la voix de l'artiste.

Figure solitaire et excentrique, loin des collectifs et des modes, Carol Rama a cependant, tout au long de sa vie, fréquenté des artistes et des intellectuels, tels que Carlo Mollino, Edoardo Sanguineti, Lea Vergine, Man Ray, et aussi croisé Pier Paolo Pasolini ou Andy Warhol. Elle apparait aujourd’hui comme une artiste incontournable pour comprendre les mutations de la représentation du XXe siècle. Lion d’Or à la Biennale de Venise en 2003, et à nouveau présenté dans l’édition 2013, son travail suscite aujourd’hui un grand intérêt auprès des institutions, des historiens de l’art et des artistes.

Exposition conçue par le Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (MACBA) et le Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris (MAMVP), organisée par le MACBA et coproduite avec PARIS MUSÉES / MAMVP, EMMA – Espoo Museum of Modern Art, Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (IMMA) et GAM – Galleria Civica d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea, Turin.

Commissaire : Anne Dressen

Avec le soutien de :

  • Partenaire mobilier de l’exposition.