Ryan Trecartin and Lizzie Fitch work together, the roles of each depending on the project in question. For the videos, Trecartin writes the scenarios, directs the actors and does the editing, while Fitch takes care of production. For the installations, as well as the sculptures, made in collaboration, are at once flexible and specific, with the details appearing in the credits for the films and the other artworks.

Over and above the creator/collaborator relationship, their work involves the invention of a new form of connective creativity. In his videos Trecartin functions as a kind of one-man-band, although the contributions from his friends are true individual performances. The characters intermingle, merge and subdivide, with gender, age, appearance and function as random factors whose permutations serve as triggers for his fictions.
Any Ever is an expanding universe, one you can enter only by consenting to reconsider the codes of the real world and the rules of language. At ARC the three-part Trill-ogy Comp (2009) and the four films making up Re’Search Wait’S (2009–10) are viewed in rooms designed to be inhabited like a theatre stage; this gives each video a space of its own in which sound is a value in its own right. 
The outcome of two years' work with the artists, this exhibition has been designed as a protean environment, involving the viewer in a joyous, endlessly anarchic cut-and-paste process. None of the narratives is unambiguous: the characters' behaviour either repeats itself in loops or abruptly breaks free of its apparent motivations.

Lizzie Fitch and Ryan Trecartin were born in 1981, in Indiana and Texas respectively. Both studied at the Rhode Island School of Design and now live and work in Los Angeles.
Recent Biography 
2011 MoMA PS1, New York: 19 June–3 September 2011/Museum of Contemporary Art, Miami: 24 June–4 September 2011
2010 Any Ever, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles/Any Ever, The Power Plant, Toronto, Canada
2009 The Generational: Younger than Jesus, the New Museum, New York (group exhibition)

Ryan Trecartin (English only), 144 pp.,
300 colour illustrations, New York, Skira Rizzoli, 32 €

Groupe Galeries Lafayette, mécène du Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Ryan Trecartin et Lizzie Fitch travaillent ensemble, la fonction de chacun variant selon les projets. Pour les vidéos, Ryan Trecartin écrit les scénarios, dirige les acteurs et réalise le montage, tandis que Lizzie Fitch se charge de la production. Pour les installations et les sculptures, leur collaboration est fluide, quoique spécifique. Le rôle de chaque intervenant est d’ailleurs toujours détaillé dans le générique des films ou les crédits des œuvres plastiques.

Au-delà du rapport auteur(s)-collaborateur(s), leur travail invente une forme nouvelle de création collective. Dans ses vidéos, Ryan Trecartin fait figure d’homme-orchestre, bien que les rôles tenus par ses amis soient autant de performances individuelles. Les personnages se mélangent, fusionnent, se subdivisent... Le genre, l’âge, l’apparence et la fonction sont autant de données aléatoires dont la permutation sert de ressort à la fiction.

Any Ever est un univers en expansion. On n’y pénètre qu’en acceptant de réexaminer les codes du monde réel et les règles du langage. La trilogie Trill-ogy Comp (2009) et les quatre films qui composent Re’Search Wait’S (2009-2010) se développent dans l’espace de l’ARC à l’intérieur de pièces destinées à être habitées comme la scène d’un théâtre : chaque vidéo possède ainsi son lieu propre où le son a un rôle à part entière.

Elaborée depuis deux ans avec les artistes, l’exposition du musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris est conçue comme un environnement protéiforme. Le spectateur est entraîné dans un copier-coller sans fin, anarchique et jubilatoire. Cependant, aucun de ces récits n’est univoque ; les comportements s’y répètent en boucle ou soudain échappent aux motivations qui avaient semblé les guider.

Lizzie Fitch et Ryan Trecartin sont nés tous deux en 1981, respectivement dans l’Indiana et au Texas. Ils ont étudié à la Rhode Island School of Design. Ils vivent et travaillent à Los Angeles.

Voir les vidéos de Ryan Trecartin
Télécharger le texte des commissaires

Biographie sélective 
2011  MoMA PS1, New York : 19 juin-3 septembre 2011 / Museum of Contemporary Art, Miami : 24 juin-4 septembre 2011
2010 Any Ever, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, CA / Any Ever, The Power Plant, Toronto, ON, Canada
2009 ‘The Generational: Younger than Jesus’ au New Museum, New York (exposition collective)

Catalogue 
Ryan Trecartin (ouvrage en anglais),  144 pages, 300 illustrations couleur, Éditions Skira Rizzoli , New York, 37 €

Groupe Galeries Lafayette, mécène du Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris.