The exhibition is laid out in sequences revolving around key works: from his exploratory years and the postwar period – when he was part of the abstract avant-garde, showed in various salons and caught Kandinsky's eye – until the more pared-down modernity of the late paintings (1968-1969).

Like all practitioners of full abstraction, Poliakoff was concerned with the relationships between line and surface, form and content, colour and light. But the apparent formal unity of his works conceals a host of painterly solutions clearly revealed by the exhibition itinerary. Crucial here are concentration of colour, vibrancy of texture and skilful arrangement of forms that balance each other in contained, energetic tension.
This is the interpretation offered by an exhibition that demonstrates the singularity of an especially sensitive approach and the intense spirituality of a body of work rigorously focused on what Pierre Guéguen called the 'dream of forms in themselves which is the great mystery of "the abstract"'.
The presentation is rounded off by a cluster of gouaches, while other projects involving fabrics, stained glass and ceramics underscore Poliakoff's fruitful relationship with the ornamental.

The exhibition is backed up by a mass of documentary material – photographs and visual and sound archives –providing an insight into the painter's life. The tumultuous beginnings of a young Russian emigrant fleeing the revolution; the postwar artistic ambience; and ultimately the years of success, during which his work attracted the attention of such figures from the worlds of politics, fashion and the cinema as Yves Saint-Laurent, Greta Garbo, Yul Brynner and Anatol Litvak; but most of all, the young art scene of the 1960s, which saw Poliakoff as one of painting's most radical modernists.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a generously illustrated catalogue, published by Paris Musées. Price: 35 euros.

Exposition Serge Poliakoff - Le Rêve des formes par paris_musees

Le parcours de l’exposition est conçu comme un cheminement s’organisant en plusieurs séquences autour d’oeuvres-clés. Depuis ses années de recherches et la période de l’après-guerre –lorsqu’il appartient à l’avant-garde de la peinture abstraite, expose dans divers salons, attire l’attention de Kandinsky– jusqu’aux dernières peintures d’une modernité épurée (1968-1969).

Comme tous les artistes de l’abstraction intégrale, Poliakoff explore les relations entre la ligne et la surface, le fond et la forme, la couleur et la lumière.  L’apparente unité formelle de ses oeuvres dissimule en réalité une multiplicité de solutions picturales que le parcours de l’exposition rend lisibles. Les couleurs concentrées, la vibration de la matière, tout comme l’agencement savant des formes qui s’équilibrent dans une tension énergique contenue, jouent ensemble un rôle capital.
C’est cette lecture qui est proposée, montrant la singularité d’une approche particulièrement sensible et l’intense spiritualité d’une oeuvre qui n’a d’autre objet que ce « rêve des formes en soi qui est le grand mystère à élucider de ‘l’abstrait’ » (Pierre Guéguen).

Un accrochage dense de gouaches complète cette présentation, tandis que des projets de tissus, de vitrail et de céramiques mettent en relief les rapports féconds que Poliakoff entretenait avec le décoratif.

Enfin, l’exposition bénéficie d’un important appareil documentaire (photographies, archives visuelles et sonores) permettant d’appréhender la vie du peintre. Les débuts tumultueux d’un jeune émigré russe fuyant la Révolution, l’ambiance artistique d’après guerre ; et enfin, les années de succès, au cours desquelles ses oeuvres attirent l’attention des personnalités du monde politique, de la mode et du cinéma (Yves Saint-Laurent, Greta Garbo, Yul Brynner, Anatol Litvak, etc.) mais aussi et surtout de la jeune scène artistique des années 1960 qui voyait en Poliakoff un des peintres les plus radicalement modernes.

PUBLICATION :

Un catalogue, largement illustré et édité par Paris-Musées, est publié à cette occasion. Prix : 35 euros.