A generously documented chronology illustrates the richness and singularity of an oeuvre marked by an ongoing dialogue between the arts. One feature that stands out overall is a personal approach to colour that harks back to Sonia Delaunay's childhood in Russia and her art study years in Germany.


While Robert Delaunay was busy conceptualising abstraction as a universal language, Sonia was testing it out in painting, posters, garments, bookbinding and household items, and collaborating with poet Blaise Cendrars on the artist's book Prose of the Trans-Siberian and of Little Jehanne of France. Her Spanish and Portuguese years during the First World War saw her first ventures into theatre and, before her return to Paris in the 1920s, commercial fashion design in Madrid. The following decade brought a pared-down abstraction in the international style that harmonised with the architecture of the time, as in the big mural decorations for the Air Transport Pavilion at the International Exhibition of Art and Technology in Modern Life, on show here for the first time since 1937. Her role as a "go-between" for the pioneers of abstraction and the postwar generation is pointed up through her contributions to the Salons des Réalités Nouvelles, her involvement in various architecture projects and her exhibitions at the Denise René gallery in Paris: after the war her painting underwent a profound renewal, culminating in the late 1960s in an intensely poetic form of abstraction. Her formal and technical gifts found expression in monumental paintings, mosaics, carpets and tapestries, and her late work was marked by the albums of etchings she produced for Editions Artcurial.

Also including recreations of groups and arrangements of her work, together with photos and films of the period, the exhibition emphasises the paradox of an oeuvre which, while very much of its time — from the Belle Epoque to the 1970s – remains ageless in its unceasing formal explorations and its quest for a synthesis of all the arts.  

Director: Fabrice Hergott

Curator: Anne Montfort et Cécile Godefroy  


The exhibition will be on show at Tate Modern in London between 15 April and 9 August 2015.
A generously illustrated catalogue of 256 pages will be published by Paris Musées to mark the exhibition

Speak with #expoSoniadelaunay

Exhibition realized with the exceptional help of  and 

With the generous backing of: 



Exposition Sonia Delaunay | Musée d'Art moderne... par paris_musees

Les couleurs de Sonia Delaunay au Musée d'Art... par mairiedeparis

Le parcours chronologique, largement documenté, illustre la richesse et la singularité de l’œuvre de Sonia Delaunay marquée par un dialogue soutenu entre les arts. L’ensemble des œuvres choisies révèle une approche personnelle de la couleur, réminiscence de son enfance russe et de son apprentissage de la peinture en Allemagne.

SONIA DELAUNAY
Tandis que Robert Delaunay conceptualise l’abstraction comme un langage universel, Sonia Delaunay l’expérimente sur les supports les plus variés (tableaux, projets d’affiches, vêtements, reliures, objets domestiques) et crée à quatre mains avec le poète Blaise Cendrars La Prose du Transsibérien et de la Petite Jehanne de France. Durant la Grande Guerre, son passage en Espagne et au Portugal coïncide avec un premier développement de ses activités dans les domaines du théâtre et de la mode qu’elle commercialise à Madrid dès 1918, puis à son retour à Paris dans les années 1920. La décennie suivante marque l’épanouissement d’une abstraction épurée, caractéristique du style international, et en harmonie avec l’architecture comme en témoignent les grandes décorations murales du Pavillon de l’Air de l’Exposition internationale des arts et techniques, présentées à Paris pour la première fois depuis 1937. Le rôle de « passeur » de l’artiste entre la génération des pionniers de l’abstraction et celle de l’après-guerre se manifeste à travers sa participation aux Salons des Réalités Nouvelles, son implication dans les projets d’architecture et sa présence au sein de la galerie Denise René. Dès l’après-guerre, la peinture de Sonia Delaunay connaît un profond renouvellement qui culmine, à la fin des années 1960, dans un art abstrait intensément poétique. Sa créativité formelle et technique s’exprime alors dans des œuvres monumentales (peinture, mosaïque, tapis, tapisserie) et son œuvre tardive connaît un ultime essor dans les albums d’eaux-fortes et les éditions Artcurial.

Servie par la reconstitution d’ensembles et de dispositifs inédits, et la présence de photographies et de films d’époque, l’exposition souligne le paradoxe d’une œuvre profondément inscrite dans son temps – de la belle époque aux années 1970 – et la constance des recherches formelles et la quête de synthèse des arts rendent également atemporelle.

COMMISSARIAT
Directeur : Fabrice Hergott
Commissaires de l'exposition : Anne Montfort et Cécile Godefroy  

ITINERANCE
L’exposition sera  présentée à la Tate Modern de Londres du 15 avril au 9 août 2015.

Visite virtuelle Exposition Sonia Delaunay

 

 

Avec le soutien de :