Like Fernand Léger, Robert Delaunay, and several other artists, Raoul Dufy was commissioned to paint huge frescoes for the 1937 International Exposition in Paris. His commission was for the slightly curved wall of the entrance to the Pavillon de la Lumière et de l’Électricité (“Pavilion of Light and Electricity”), built by Robert Mallet-Stevens on the Champ de Mars. He abided by the instructions given to him by the electricity company, La Compagnie Parisienne de Distribution d’ Électricité, and told the story of La Fée Électricité (“The Electricity Fairy”), taking inspiration from, amongst other things, Lucretius’s De rerum natura. The composition unfolds across 600 m2, from right to left, on two principal themes: the history of electricity and its applications – from the first observations to the most modern technical applications of it. The upper part is a changing landscape in which the painter has placed some of his favourite subjects: sailing boats, flocks of birds, a threshing machine, and a Bastille-day ball. Stretching the length of the lower half are portraits of one hundred and ten scientists and inventors who contributed to the development of electricity.

 

Dufy blends mythology and allegories with historical accuracy and technological description, setting up contrasts of opposites. In the centre: the Olympian gods and the Ivry-sur-Seine power-station generators connected by Zeus’s thunderbolt; primordial nature and architecture; people at their daily work and modern machines. Immediately to the left of the centre: Iris, messenger of the gods and daughter of Electra, flies in the light, over an orchestra and the capitals of the world, diffusing all the colours of the rainbow. Areas of red, blue, yellow, and green, independent of the flowing line of the drawing, organise and energise this virtuoso composition.

The method Dufy used meant that he could work very quickly (it was finished in 10 months). He used a medium prepared by chemist Jacques Maroger, which gave the paint a transparent quality, like watercolour. This apparent facility actually concealed a great deal of technical innovation, documentary research and solid work (he painted models nude and then in costumes, transferred drawings onto tracing paper in order to work out how to group them, then projected them life-size onto the panels with a magic lantern).

This huge fresco was donated to the Musée d’Art Moderne by Électricité de France and installed in 1964.

Comme Fernand Léger, Robert Delaunay et nombre d’autres artistes, Raoul Dufy reçoit pour l’Exposition internationale de 1937 à Paris la commande de décorations monumentales, notamment celle du mur légèrement courbe du hall du Palais de la Lumière et de l’Électricité, édifié par Robert Mallet-Stevens sur le Champ-de-Mars. Il se plie au programme du commanditaire, la Compagnie parisienne de distribution d’électricité, pour raconter La Fée Électricité en s’inspirant entre autres du De rerum natura de Lucrèce. Cette composition de 600 m2 mètres déploie, de droite à gauche et sur deux registres principaux, l’histoire de l’électricité et de ses applications, depuis les premières observations jusqu’aux réalisations techniques les plus modernes. La partie supérieure est un paysage changeant dans lequel le peintre a disséminé ses thèmes favoris : voiliers, nuées d’oiseaux, batteuse, bal du 14 juillet. Le long du registre inférieur sont disposés les portraits de cent dix savants et inventeurs ayant contribué au développement de l’électricité.

Mêlant la mythologie et les allégories à l’exactitude historique et à la description technologique, Dufy joue sur l’opposition des contraires. Au centre, les dieux de l’Olympe et les générateurs de la centrale électrique reliés par la foudre de Zeus ; la nature primordiale et les architectures ; les travaux, les jours et les machines modernes. Immédiatement à gauche du centre, Iris, messagère des dieux, fille d’Electra, vole dans la lumière, au-dessus d’un orchestre et des capitales du monde diffusant toutes les teintes du prisme. Des aplats de couleurs rouges, bleus, jaunes ou verts indépendants du dessin très souple, organisent et dynamisent cette composition virtuose.

La méthode utilisée par Dufy permit une réalisation très rapide (dix mois depuis la conception), grâce à un médium mis au point par le chimiste Jacques Maroger qui rend en outre la matière picturale transparente, comme à l’aquarelle. Cette apparente facilité dissimule en réalité une importante innovation technique, de nombreuses recherches documentaires et un travail soutenu (modèles peints nus puis en costumes, dessins reportés au calque pour trouver la disposition des groupes ensuite projetés grandeur nature sur les panneaux à l’aide d’une lanterne magique).

Donnée par Électricité de France, cette décoration monumentale fut installée au Musée d’Art moderne en 1964.